Testimonials

Customers

I wanted to take a moment to acknowledge the outstanding support Kent Corp/GPC has received from the Locus team assigned to our environmental compliance log project. After nearly a year of meetings, planning, building, testing, training, and preparations, we are implementing the third and final phase of our Locus Platform at GPC on Mon, Feb 29.

Moving to the Locus Platform has been a significant culture change for GPC, and at times, this has been a challenging process. The Locus Project team has been extremely patient and tolerant throughout the entire project. This team navigated their way through a multitude of decisions, changes to decisions, and even more requested changes from GPC with patience that must have been challenging at times. If they were ever frustrated with our team, they did not display this emotion during any of our calls or review/training sessions.

Linda Heckroth
Project Manager, Kent Corp/GPC
25 February 2016
Honeywell logo

We achieved ‘a sea change in terms of data quality, environmental risk reduction, and overall process cost reduction of over 50%’ by implementing EIM.

Remediation Manager
Honeywell

Our collaboration with Locus has been both productive and innovative, and your staff have been very enjoyable to work with over the past few years. We look forward to our work together in the future, and to seeing where technology and creativity take us.

Large customer
Department of Energy

Locus’ hard work, and excellent performance in support of the continued operation and maintenance of the Center Groundwater Extraction and Treatment System (GWTS) were completed within budget and the projected schedules.

S. Pete Worden
Center Director, NASA Ames Research Center

Thank you for your effort and excellent work. We appreciate the fast delivery schedule of the new developments. We are specially satisfied with the improvement of the user friendly portal.

Pierre-Louis Marec
Group EHS Vice President, Alstom

Locus is a great company…very qualified. They automated a manual process, saving us the daily labor costs…This essentially paperless system is accessible to anyone who needs it at any time.

Remediation Manager
UPRR

The Locus Internet-based Environmental Dashboard gives us better control of the remediation system, with faster response to problems and quicker access to real-time data.

West Coast Manager
Schlumberger

Lucchini cut its environmental costs and standardized its information management processes by deploying Locus. The system has also provided us with due diligence cost reduction on the M&A front.

Dr. Francesco Caforio
Managing Director, Lucchini

By adopting Locus’ systems, Ascometal cut its environmental costs and standardized its information management processes.

Director of Environmental Programs
Ascometal

We see tremendous potential for process improvements for both Locus’ enterprise customers and NEMAC’s government partners by combining resources and integrating results of climate change and other large-scale monitoring into Locus’ enterprise-centered applications. Integration of the information on weather and climate change monitoring will enable organizations to easily analyze, optimize, and mitigate their energy and emissions.

Jim Fox
Director of NEMAC, UNC Asheville
21 February 2012
Del Monte logo

Not only does Locus’ cloud-based system enable us to see our progress more quickly and easily because of the reporting customization and graphics, but Locus truly understands the science behind the metrics, and acts as another set of eyes and a trusted partner to Del Monte in validating our data.

By working with Locus, we will improve our ability to analyze and forecast our reliance on critical environmental resources, which will help Del Monte meet its sustainability goals. Management of our complex set of activities requires robust software architectures that are best delivered via the Cloud. We found all of these in Locus’ platform.

Robin Connell
Sustainability Programs Manager, Del Monte Foods
12 December 2011

Developing our resources prudently and efficiently, while identifying and managing potential environmental impacts related to our operations, are critically important to Roca Honda Resources. Locus’ software will allow us to share information more quickly and efficiently between our field operations and our scientists, and evaluate data faster, ultimately contributing to a more environmentally sound management practice and efficient operation.

Mr. John DeJoia
Senior Vice President of New Mexico operations and Manager, Roca Honda Resources (now Energy Fuels)
6 June 2011
Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL) logo

High-quality environmental data is one of the key drivers that will help us meet our cleanup goals. Moving forward, our data will help us be more sustainable and better stewards of the environment. Organizing these massive volumes of data, and making them available to the public, will help demonstrate our commitment to openness and environmental compliance.

Alison Dorries
Division leader for Waste and Environmental Services, Los Alamos National Laboratory
21 March 2011

We are very pleased to join with Locus to bring an integrated and elegant solution to address the nuclear industry’s Tritium monitoring needs. Our experience in producing hundreds of different types of monitors for different users, coupled with Locus’ market leader position in Cloud Computing-based environmental data management, will benefit our joint clients.

Dr. Robert I. Goldstein
President and CEO, Overhoff
15 March 2010

Locus EIM has improved our productivity through automatic data quality checks, real-time data queries and graphics, and automated data tables for regulatory reports. EIM’s ability to manage our data, including direct laboratory upload of sampling results, saves us and our client’s time and money. EIM’s ability to manage multiple sites within a single database is perfect for our larger clients.

Jeff Gwinn
Vice President, Orion Environmental
11 January 2010

ERS is very pleased with our selection of Locus EIM.  We provide professional services at complex environmental sites and had over 10 years of data and hundreds of thousands of records that were becoming increasingly difficult to manage using desktop systems.  With EIM, we can now quickly access our data, and more importantly share the data with our clients.

One key factor in the selection of Locus EIM was the on-demand nature of the system, which allowed us to quickly get up and running.  Being web-based, we can access the data from the field and the office, and also invite our clients to review their own data 24/7, which is a huge plus for ERS and the Port.

Steven Michelson
PG, Environmental Risk Services
21 August 2008

Advances in technology in recent years have made instant access to environmental data a reality. Coding this data by geography and making it available on the Web will help government and industry expose information they have been collecting for years and put it to beneficial use. Locus can help businesses and government entities characterize their environmental problems faster and easier, so that valuable technical resources can be spent designing solutions, instead of searching for information.

Christine Todd Whitman
President of The Whitman Strategy Group and former EPA Administrator and Governor of New Jersey
21 August 2007

Non-customers

As well as vendors pushing to lead within the seven subdomains of solution, watch out for some of the smaller players which are creatively exploiting a number of the white spaces in the solution map. Locus Technologies provides a highly focused analysis of key environmental parameters, including water foot-printing and incorporating spatial data analysis.

Stephen Stokes
Gartner
25 October 2010

For companies with significant environmental exposure risks, Locus Technologies provides a complete set of tools to manage those risks.

Gartner believes clients are best served by integrated approaches to EH&S needs, but for companies pursuing a best-of-breed architecture and looking for only environmental software, Locus Technologies’ blue-chip customer base attests to its value.

(Vendor Rating)
Gartner
21 April 2009

Locus Technologies offers the full range of data input functionality from meter integration to third party software integration.  For the data management capabilities, Locus Technologies offers the best-in-class solution for geographic information capture.  The software offers full data capture and management capabilities integrated with mapping tools, displaying full environmental and sustainability data on a web-based, interactive GIS system.  Locus Technologies has developed its EH&S software application to deliver ePortal 5.0 that has solid reporting functionality for CDP carbon, GRI and mandatory GHG reporting requirements including US EPA Mandatory Reporting, EU Emissions Trading Scheme and the California Global Warming Solutions Act (AB32) for which it is certified.

Samantha Price
Industry Analyst, Verdantix, Green Quadrant Sustainability Management Software
July 2013

Environmental management software provider Locus Technologies has enhanced its product’s energy and resource management features.  The update complements the software’s deep environmental compliance functionality, allowing it to more effectively address customers interested in financial savings from reduced use of energy and other resources.  The new features put Locus in more direct competition with other software vendors that focus on enterprise energy cost management.  In addition to these updated energy features, Locus has added new compliance-related features and improved integration with third-party data sets.

John Stanley
Analyst, The 451 Group (Locus Technologies adds energy tracking, costing to its environmental toolset)
22 December 2011

Because of the growing importance of data management, analytics, and access to content, vendors with expertise in these areas will strengthen their market position in the coming years.  Oracle is a strong contender in this space, along with SAS, Infosys, and Verisae, due to strong data analytics capabilities.  IHS, Ecometrica, PE INTERNATIONAL, and Locus Technologies, which have databases that contain a wealth of information and data for carbon and energy management reporting, are also poised to gain market share.

Marianne Hedin, Ph.D.
Industry Analyst, Carbon Management Software and Services (2Q 2011 The Evolving Carbon Management Industry and its Convergence with Enterprise Energy Management: Market Analysis and Forecasts)

There are two ways to evaluate Locus: either as a traditional environmental information management (EIM) software supplier or as an energy/GHG management supplier.  In the traditional EIM market, Locus seems strong.  It is an established player, and its future vision for integration with other systems is sound.  Its scientific depth in data tracking appears to be a good differentiator.

As an energy/GHG software supplier, Locus is one of many, and its product features lack strong differentiation.  Locus is well-positioned to upsell existing clients or pursue new ones that also have traditional EIM needs.  Landing clients in the broader energy/GHG software market will be harder, so Locus’ strategy — to stick to its familiar market for now — appears to be the right one.

John Stanley
Analyst, The 451 Group (Locus Technologies adds a little science to environmental data management)
25 February 2011

Locus offers a robust, cost-effective suite of environmental risk management solutions, giving end users controllable information on demand, while lowering operational costs.  Although many solutions in this market have been tracking and maintaining environmental information, this task was often handled by archaic, piecemealed systems that only addressed individual environmental health and safety requirements, or carbon reduction related data, resulting in a dependency on a large number of legacy software systems, which are now both outdated and inefficient.  The Locus solution provides a clear breakaway from these, in addition to being cost effective and scalable.

Frost & Sullivan
(Best Practices Research: Customer Value Enhancement, Environmental Information Management Solutions North America)
2010

The Verdantix report recognized that Locus Technologies’ environmental compliance software has evolved into broader sustainable business software.  The report states that Locus is one of only two firms in the Entrepreneurs Quadrant that claim more than 10 customers with more than $1 billion in revenue.  The report further states that “The Entrepreneurs have more opportunity to win customers in the price-sensitive mid-market.”  Overall, Locus scored strong in customer momentum, master data management and financial resources.

“Based on the insights from our customer panel and our in-depth interviews we define carbon and energy management software as: ‘Software designed to help individuals responsible for carbon and energy management to collect, store, audit, report, analyze, and forecast carbon emissions and energy consumption data to meet business objectives such as planning, reduction, budgeting, compliance and trading’,” said David Metcalfe, Verdantix Director.

“The global market for carbon and energy software is intensely competitive – buyers choose from over 100 suppliers.  To help buyers save time, save money and reduce risk in their selection process this Verdantix Green Quadrant report compares the 28 software applications that pre-qualify as a potential fit for $1 billion revenue firms.  Our analysis is based on interviews with 15 buyers collectively representing firms with revenues of $260 billion, live demonstrations of the 28 applications and supplier responses to a 99 point questionnaire.  Before jumping to conclusions about the best fit supplier, buyers need to conduct a detailed assessment of their business strategy, available budget and usage scenarios.  Suppliers in the Challenger, Specialist and Entrepreneur Quadrants may meet requirements just as well as the Leaders.”

David Metcalfe
Director, Verdantix, San Francisco, Calif.
22 November 2010

Locus Technologies is the definitive source worldwide of on-demand environmental data management software and storage, as well as being a key consulting and support services provider. Locus offers a comprehensive suite of web-based environmental information management applications to help small to large enterprises around the globe — both in business and government sectors.

Locus was founded in 1997 and is the oldest and most experienced provider of on-demand environmental software.  Companies have been using Locus’ environmental software to manage and report their greenhouse gas emissions and other sustainability data since 1999.

Locus also has a certified GHG verification team that ensures all reports generated through the software are easily verifiable.  On December 6, 2007, pursuant to the California Global Warming Solutions Act of 2006, the Air Resources Board (ARB) approved the Mandatory Reporting of Greenhouse Gas Emissions regulation.  Facilities subject to mandatory reporting will be required to have their greenhouse gas emissions verified beginning in 2010, for their 2009 reported emissions.  Facilities will be subject to either annual or triennial verification.

ARB accredited only limited number of verification bodies and verifiers and Locus is one of them. Locus is the only software provider that may also provide verification services for the purposes of mandatory greenhouse gas emissions reporting.

Dr. Gary M. Vasey, MD & Peter C. Fusaro
CommodityPoint - Europe & Asia Pacific, and Global Change Associates Inc. (Emissions Monitoring & Trading Software Study)
November 2009

As you can imagine, water is strategic to the company, and it’s being considered for a future phase of deployment.  As Stephen pointed out in June, the developed world has major opportunities for improving water utilization efficiency.  This domain is being pursued by a significantly smaller set of vendors like Locus Technologies.

Bruce Richardson
AMR Research (Commentary: Enterprise Application Strategies, Sustainability Software: Forget Cap and Trade, Let's Track and Save)
August 2009

Competition to supply energy cost management tools for manufacturers and process industries is heating up.

Locus has a home-field advantage in such industries, and is better equipped than most energy-focused competitors to also serve these clients’ environmental compliance needs.  On the other hand, Locus does not make energy management the main focus of its brand, and its enhanced energy features are relatively nascent.  Thus, it will need to aggressively stake and defend its claim in the energy cost management space.

As for the vendor’s partnerships to bring in data on chemical regulations, maps and weather, 451 Research thinks this is a smart move. We believe users will increasingly want data to complement their environmental software.

John Stanley
Analyst, The 451 Group
21 August 2007